Factory Visit: Quoddy Trail Moccasin

quoddy-0011Pulling off I-95, the town of Lewiston hits my windshield with a thud. Cruising their main strip, I passed a chicken shack, a Burger King, and a slew of empty buildings. My directions read, “Look for ‘Maine Thread.’” Even with eyes peeled, I nearly passed the small sign fashioned of white plywood and black vinyl letters no bigger than my hand.

quoddy-0022Thinking I’d reached my destination, I sauntered through the doors at Maine Thread, past walls covered floor to ceiling in spools upon spools of the stuff, organized by color and gauge. Finally, I reached a small metal desk, where a small wooden man sat in a big ball cap embroidered with an eagle and an American flag.

“Excuse me? Are these the Quoddy offices?”
“No – no. What you gonna do….”

Rising, he walked me past the spools and outside, pointing to an arched brick alleyway.

quoddy-3Random House defines the moccasin as “a heelless shoe made entirely of soft leather, as deerskin, with the sole brought up and attached to a piece of u-shaped leather on top of the foot, worn originally by the American Indians.”quoddy-019Wood tools, like this rounded wedge Kevin uses to press the leather into the last, are rare.quoddy-028A stitch gauge measurement of five assures they are properly spaced.

quoddy-004“They’re Kwah-dih,” Alex, the kindly English sutler, informed me upon discovering a grizzly boot and boat shoe for sale at Freemans Sporting Club a few years ago. I’d mispronounced the name in asking the make. I remember saying the leather felt waxy, and Alex, not content to let my observation stand, replied, “Yes, they’re buttery.” Supple, sturdy, well-oiled, well-cushioned, all stand to describe a Quoddy Trail moccasin upon first interaction. When held, when properly examined the precise balance of heft and delicacy emanates. Their handmade attributes, every stitch, every stretch mark, every skived edge beg to be admired. They define remarkable.

quoddy-005QUODDY the sign read. I felt the sweat on my feet. Wool socks, Bean Boots, and a shock of nerves hit me as I entered the factory doors.

quoddy-006This is the new handsewing workshop for Quoddy Trail Moccasin which until recently was based in a small storefront on the main drag. That isn’t to say the building is new. Quite the contrary, Kevin and Kirsten Shorey, owners of Quoddy Trail, recently acquired two floors of the defunct Maine Moccasin factory, along with relics of the factory’s past: antique sewing machines, old wooden lasts, tools, and leather scraps aplenty. The powder blue paint job was covered with dust and dirt; the floor beneath me could have just as easily been beach property, albeit beach property beset by a nagging nail infestation. As I entered the darkly lit room where Quoddy stitches all their shoes, I watched four men hunched over tanned, pressed leather, as they spun gold. Each of them moved around a mounted shoe as though it were a seven-layer cake receiving seven layers of icing. Stitch by stitch crafting moccasins with their bare hands – bare, but for the grip tape wrapped around their knuckles.

quoddy-008Gambler Tobacco, Grip Tape, Handsewing Ends

quoddy-027

quoddy-0121

quoddy-013This is how the leather looks after it’s prepared at their facilities in Perry, Maine.

quoddy-0071

quoddy-0161

quoddy-017

quoddy-018

quoddy-020

quoddy-011

“The Shorey family has been making moccasins for generations, beginning with Harry Smith Shorey, a hand-sewer for L.L. Bean in the early 1900s,” this from their charming, out-dated website.

quoddy-009The shop manager stitches the ends to the toe of a new blucher.

quoddy-014Kevin Shorey, the well-spoken, well-shod, bear of a man runs the day-to-day operations from his office in Perry. He introduced me to some of the skilled craftsmen who form these shoes and gave me a bit of background.quoddy-021

quoddy-022

Several years ago, fed up with his job at a big-time newspaper, he moved home to Maine and alongside Kirsten, started making moccasins in his family’s barn. Yuki Matsuda, of Meg Company, got wind of the Shorey’s shoe-making operation,. Yuki, Kevin, and Kirsten formed Yu-Ke-Ten to target the Japanese market. As business grew, Yuki’s desire to expand the brand’s offerings beyond footwear led him to take full control of Yuketen, as Kevin and Kirsten concentrated on Quoddy.

quoddy-023Cordovan Leather, Gum Sole, Cross-stitch Toe, Quoddy for Albam quoddy-024Another view of the Albam moc alongside a refurbished Ring Boot

This was eleven years ago. Since that time, Quoddy has been quietly growing a loyal following around the world, and rightly so. The company offers handmade shoes, made the old-fashioned way, “the hard way,” as Kevin likes to say. He was eager to express just how customizable their offerings are, walking me through several custom jobs they’ve acquired: everyone from Rogues Gallery to J. L. Powell to South Willard; Sid Mashburn to Freemans Sporting Club; Camilla Staerk to 3sixteen. The newly formed “Quoddy for…” line has begun to pick up steam. “People are willing to invest in the name, Quoddy,” says Shorey.

Today he makes the four hour drive to the stitching plant in Lewiston roughly once a week. When I met him, he wore a zippered fleece, khaki pants, and a pair of Quoddy Trail bluchers with a solid tread Vibram sole.

“Not bad,” I said, admiring the yellow Vibram logo.
“Yeah, these won’t wear out too quickly.” Kevin chuckled.

quoddy-026Not a Vibram, still a crepe sole will last a long time. Beyond them are two memory foam insoles which are wedged between the two pieces of leather in shoes like the double-bottom ring boot above.

With a one-piece vamp – the front, sides, and bottom of the shoe – swaddling the entire foot, full leather sock lining, and a heel pad, I can guarantee they won’t wear out too quickly. Using leathers from the tanneries of Horween in Chicago, S.B. Foot in Minnesota, and Irving from right there in Maine, everything is handmade. All the major cutting and prepping of the leathers occurs at their shop in Perry. The handsewing and finishing touches are added in the storied town of Lewiston, once home to thousands of skilled artisans famous for their quality craftsmanship. Kevin and Kirsten Shorey are making moccasins, a shoe with a story that began thousands of years ago with this country’s first settlers, made with as much domestic product as humanly possible, and they’re doing so entirely by hand, by American hands – cutting, skiving, stitching, and hand-sewing.

Nearly every sentence Kevin spoke began with, “We take great pride….” “We take great pride that we’re not conventional… that we do it here in Maine… that we stand by our product… that we’ll fix any problem.”

“With Quoddy, you receive a genuine handmade moccasin. While leather properties vary slightly with every hide, each pair demonstrates our philosophy: Attention to detail and no shortcuts. Also, many of our moccasins can be made in special widths or sizes… without an outsized price tag.” (website).

That said, I asked the guys working in the factory if they owned a pair.

quoddy-025“Can’t afford it,” One gentleman quickly replied.

quoddy-029I, too, can’t afford it but couldn’t leave without ordering a pair. Never in my life has the vice president of a shoe company approached me with the backside of a desk calendar and a pen saying, “Stand on this piece of paper. I’m gonna outline your foot.” Usually, I wear an 11D; according to my invoice, these were made on a 10.5 E last. Excited, I await the arrival of my first pair of custom-made leather moccasins.

quoddy-0301I chose to have a canoe moccasin made with dark brown full grain leather and a deerskin full-sock liner in gold. The eyelets will be nickel-plated silver. They will have a red brick camp sole, and for a bit of flash, I chose red leather laces, a personal trademark. The cow’s leather is from Horween in Chicago, the deerskin comes from a butcher in Holden, Maine who passes the skins along to a tannery once he’s carved out his venison, and the soles are from Brazilian gum trees by way of Ohio. Priced at $165, for a shoe of the highest quality materials, made to my exacting specifications down to the last stitch, it seemed reasonable.

Leaving the factory, I caught a glimpse of myself in a window’s reflection. In that moment, the scruffy, bespectacled hipster staring back at me wondered how the moccasin made its way from the feet of a Canarsee chieftain stalking wild turkey along the marshes of the East River to the boutiques of Bedford Ave. Something tells me he didn’t take the L train.

Quoddy centers their brand around doing things well, doing them locally, and doing them with pride. Invest in a pair of Quoddy moccasins. If you wear your Quoddy’s with the same care that went into crafting them, then they might even outlast you.

For more, please contact:

Kirsten & Kevin Shorey
Telephone: 207.853.2488
Fax: 207.853.4406

1041 US Route 1
PO Box 129
Perry, Maine 04667 USA
quoddytrail@prexar.com
kshorey@prexar.com

For more photos of my visit to the factory, see Flickr.

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Factory Visit: Quoddy Trail Moccasin

  1. mbr

    thanks for the post, this, with the LL bean trip, is great. One of my new fav. blogs.

  2. love the post. very cool. so few shoe factories left.

  3. Incredible. I’m buying a pair. The crepe sole design kills it.

  4. great post Max. Those canoe mocs sound awesome, can’t wait to see pics. I called South Willard the other day and they’re also getting boat shoes with red brick soles in 3 colors any day now. Winn Perry also has some nice deck boots. There’s been some gripe on forums regarding Quoddy’s price hike, customer service and lead time as they’ve grown more fashionable – but your visit sheds light on how small, authentic, and committed to quality Quoddy has remained over the decades, can’t put a price on that.

  5. elizatruitt

    Amazing. Thank you so much for this view into the workshop and company. What a treat.

  6. Memphis88

    I tried to get a pair of Quoddy Dawson Mocs last winter and it was the worst customer service experience I have ever had. I could never get them to return my calls and the shoes took two months longer to ship than they were supposed to. To top it all off they were way too big. Great quality though, and I’ll likely give them another try when I can afford them again.

  7. Scotty

    Fantastic story. It seems a shame though that the gentleman working for the company is unable to own his own pair of Quoddys. I myself will hopefully have the funds to buy a pair come the end of summer.

  8. gorgeous photos…
    hope we can work together sometime soon.
    =)

  9. an amazing post and an amazing company

  10. Pingback: Quoddy Factory Tour

  11. So do Quoddy make a deck shoe that has the sae fold over-type sole as the Ring Boot, but with leather laces?

    If so, that would be just about perfect.

    I like that they’re doing all this collaborations…

  12. Warnke

    Anybody know what color boat soles and camp soles they offer for their boots?

    Been trying to get this answer for a month now from them, but nothing so far. No phone pick up or reply through website. And its possible after this blog post it’ll take a few more months. 😦

  13. Pingback: Quoddy Trail Mocassin Factory Visit | Hypebeast

  14. Fantastic post, I enjoyed that! 😉

  15. Pingback: My Friend Max Makes a Visit « start with typewriters

  16. Pingback: Quoddy Factory Visit « Drinkin’ And Dronin’

  17. Angelo R.

    I thought their customer service was fantastic! I ordered a pair of black bluchers to wear to my wedding. I sent an email a week before the wedding, told them I needed them ASAP, and asked whether they would be able to accommodate. Kevin wrote back and said my shoes will be delivered with time to spare. I received them 3 or 4 days before the big day. Terrific shoes. They came in a great little shoe bag with a silk screened logo too!

  18. Pingback: All Plaidout Visits Quoddy Trail Moccasin Company « A Crepuscular Melange

  19. Don Guss

    Man, I love the internets!
    Thanks for this great post.
    Fascinating.

  20. Pingback: ALL PLAIDOUT: QUODDY FACTORY VISIT - we are themarket -

  21. Pingback: excavation by spoonfulls » Blog Archive » behind the seams: quoddy trail moccasin company

  22. christoph

    I orderd a pair last year. creditcard was billed right away and the shoes never came. beware of ordering from the quoddy webpage! I called them 4 times and wrote 5 emails. still i got no shoes…

  23. Pingback: Sweet Pair « Gravel & Gold

  24. Do they do regular factory tours? That is so cool! wow..

  25. Pingback: Things My Father Taught Me: Jay Carroll « all plaidout

  26. Thanks for this article

Leave a comment