Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.

stormy-kromerOriginal Stormy Kromer Cap

“I still had my red hunting hat on, with the peak around to the back and all. I really got a bang out of that hat.”

vanilla-red-cap

The Red Cap, Vanilla Bicycles

“I took my old hunting hat out of my pocket while I walked and put it on. I knew I wouldn’t meet anybody that knew me, and it was pretty damp out. I kept walking and walking, and I kept thinking about old Phoebe going to that museum on Saturdays the way I used to. I thought how she’d see the same stuff I used to see, and how she’d be different every time she saw it. It didn’t exactly depress me to think about it, but it didn’t make me feel gay as hell, either. Certain things they should stay the way they are. You ought to be able to stick them in one of those big glass cases and just leave them alone. I know that’s impossible, but it’s not too bad anyway. Anyway, I kept thinking about all that while I walked.”

Jones Hat, Johnson Woolen Mills

“When I was all set to go, when I had my bags and all, I stood for a while next to the stairs and took a last look down that goddam corridor. I was sort of crying. I don’t know why. I put my red hunting hat on, and turned the peak around to the back, the way I liked it, and then I yelled at the top of my goddam voice, “Sleep tight, ya morons!” I’ll bet I woke up every bastard on the whole floor. Then I got the hell out. Some stupid guy had thrown peanut shells all over the stairs, and I damn near broke my crazy neck.”

filson-double-mackinaw-cap Double Mackinaw Cap, Filson

He took another look at my hat while he was cleaning them.
“Up home we wear a hat like that to shoot deer in, for Chrissake,” he said. “That’s a deer shooting hat.”
“Like hell it is.”
I took it off and looked at it. I sort of closed one eye, like I was taking aim at it.
“This is a people shooting hat,” I said. “I shoot people in this hat.”

– Holden Caulfield, The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.

  1. mp

    shine them for the Fat Lady.

  2. I always wondered whether Holden had gone for a pure red or the check. Solid, I assume. I looked all over for one…and here they are. Excellent.

    • plaidout

      ‘Tis! I think the Stormy Kromer cap looks really sharp. I saw an older gentleman wearing his blue plaid SK in Dumbo on Saturday. It’s on my list.

Leave a Reply

