Denim Diary

jeans

If I started a clothing company, I’d want the hang tags to tell the garment’s story, like a J. Peterman catalogue dangling there for customers to read as they hold my creations.

Inspired by 45rpm’s NYC Denim Diary, I thought I’d provide a diary entry of my own for the pair pictured.

:: A.P.C. Hipsters, size 30, purchase in mid-September 2006 ::

The second pair of jeans I bought from Jean Touitou are my favorite. The Cures cut too close to my calves. Hipsters, with their wider leg, suited my gams just fine. Purchased to celebrate the opening of a play I’d produced with some friends, I remember someone commented on their “shine” at the after-party. These were straight-up, raw as the law selvedge denim. My boss called them my “tighties” for the first couple months. I wore them to sleep a few times hoping they’d loosen up a bit.  I wore them nearly every day. In December of that year, I had about an inch chopped off the cuffs. I didn’t wash them until March, and by that time, despite leaving them in a freezer for a couple days, they’d knock people out with their smokey smell. Now, I put them in with the regular laundry; I don’t turn them inside out; I wash them once or twice a month. All the fading, whiskers, holes, and stains are of my own doing. They have torn twice. I’ve had them repaired by some folks in Cincinnati who do a bang-up job. Unless I point it out, the repair goes undetected. Over the holidays, they incurred another hole. Like The Pretenders, they’re going back to Ohio.

I’ll have a full write-up on denim repair in a couple weeks.

That’s it for now, I’m all plaid out.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Denim Diary

  1. rob

    I have some denim with a story. I bought them in Germany. I was so excited to find them the young hip German lady was probably thinking I was a crazy American. I explained I can’t find denim that fits well in the states (30×34). Her response, “Oh, because Americans are so fat!” Exactly. I wear them almost daily and they are 3 years old in great shape.

  2. rob

    why yes they are. The company now has stores in the US. Great denim, horrible name.

Leave a Reply

